No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act (H.R. 7)

House Roll Call No. 30
113rd Congress, 2nd Session

Passed: 227-188 (see complete tally)
The No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act (H.R. 7), sponsored by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-Il.), would establish a permanent, government-wide policy against funding abortions or health plans that cover abortions (except to save the life of the mother, or in cases of rape or incest).  Among other things, this would remove elective abortion from the federally subsidized health plans that the Obamacare law established for millions of Americans.  On January 28, 2014, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 7, 227-188, with one member voting "present."  The bill was supported by 221 Republicans and six Democrats.  It was opposed by one Republican and 187 Democrats.  The measure was sent to the Senate, where a similar bill (S. 946) has been introduced by Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Ms).  To view NRLC's letter to House members on H.R. 7, click here.  To view NRLC's statement after the January 28 House vote, click here.

Vote Map: House Roll Call No. 30
Votes For : 227
Votes Against : 188
Voted "Present" : 1
Not Voting : 15

powered by CQ Roll Call ©2019