No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act (H.R. 7)

House Roll Call No. 45
114th Congress, 1st Session

Passed: 242-179 (see complete tally)
The No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act (H.R. 7), sponsored by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-Il.), would establish a permanent, government-wide policy against funding abortions or health plans that cover abortions (except to save the life of the mother, or in cases of rape or incest).  Among other things, this would remove elective abortion from the federally subsidized health plans that the Obamacare law established for millions of Americans.  On January 22, 2015, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 7, 242-179.  The bill was supported by 239 Republicans and three Democrats.  It was opposed by one Republican and 178 Democrats.  The measure was sent to the Senate.  To view NRLC's letter to House members in support of H.R. 7, click here.  Companion legislation has been introduced in the U.S. Senate by Senator Roger Wicker (R-Ms.) as S. 582.

Vote Map: House Roll Call No. 45
Votes For : 242
Votes Against : 179
Not Voting : 12

powered by CQ Roll Call ©2019